Help & Advice

Questions and Answers

Welcome to our Q&A section.

Here you will find answers to some of the questions that we have been asked over the two decades that the game has been running.

The game itself has evolved considerably over that time. And so it is possible that changes to the game mechanics will have resulted in occasional errors in the information given. As such, if you remain in any doubt about a ruling, please email us for confirmation. And if you notice any mistakes in these answers, please let us know.

It is also a fairly lengthy page. So the best way to find the information you are looking for may be to use your browser’s search function.

 

Q: If you have a riddle encounter and get the answer wrong, can you try answering again straight away, or do you need to start again and go through the whole process of getting the encounter, investigating and then reacting?

A: You can try answering again straight away.

 

Q: If a doubled agent is redoubled, what report does each nation get on the turn that the agent is redoubled?

A: Both nations get the current location of the agent. The original doubler then gets a report of actions up to the 500 order phase, and the redoubler gets a report for after the 500 order phase.

In the unlikely event of a double agent being redoubled by two (or more) nations on the same turn, the original doubler still gets the current location and a report up to the 500 phase, the first redoubler nation gets nothing at all, and the last redoubler gets the current location and the report after the 500 phase. 

 

Q: The 830 order says that it will pick up enough transports to carry the troops, if available in the hex. If I have 20 transports already in my navy and only need 10 to carry my troops, will all 20 move when I issue an 830 order, or will 10 be left behind?

A: All 20 will move with your navy. The 830 order will only attempt to pick up extra transports if there are not already enough in the navy.

 

Q: Is it possible to capture (255) a population center then immediately improve it (550) in the same turn?

A: Yes. 

 

Q: A mage usually needs to know a medium spell of a mastery list in order to learn a hard spell. But if they only know a hard spell of the list, can they learn another hard spell?

A: Yes.

 

Q: The rules state that “A war machine is (very) roughly equivalent to 50 Heavy Infantry, or 25 Heavy Infantry when threatening.” So is it 25 HI or 50HI?

A: They are equivalent to (roughly) 50HI in army combat, or 25HI when threatening a population.

To clarify, war machines do three things:
1) 500 damage in combat against armies (roughly 50HI)
2) 25 troop numbers when threatening a population center
3) 200 points of strength for fortification reduction during an assault (capture or destroy) or siege

 

Q: Does a home (‘h’) day of rest order cost still only cost 1mp when the army is unfed?

A: Yes. If an army has no food, the movement cost to move through a sector is increased by 1/3. But as it is not moving during a ‘h’ movement, the cost remains 1.

 

Q: If an artifact allows the casting of a spell as a secondary power, for example teleport, can any character cast the spell, even if their mage skill rank is zero?

A: Yes

 

Q: Quick question, is it somehow possible to give orders to a hostage character?
 
A: Quick answer, No!

 

Q: I have the maximum number of characters for this point in the game (15 characters on turn 9). Can I still recruit (505) a character from an eliminated nation?
 
A: Yes, up to the maximum limit of 21 characters. However, note that if the recruited character dies, you cannot then replace it by naming a character – in other words the recruited character breaks the limit of 15 characters, it does not increase your limit to 16.

 

Q: If I have an army and a navy at a port, and try and transfer more troops into the navy than it has transports to carry, will the order succeed?
 
A: It should work fine. In order to transfer troops into a navy it must be able to anchor its ships (though it will not actually do so). So the order will not fail as you can theoretically anchor the ships in the port. The navy will then effectively be an army with ships attached until you either get more transports, or lose the excess troops.

 

Q: If the answer to a riddle is a formal name with two words, do I need to write them both in? An example might be Grima Wormtongue.

A: Yes, please include the entire name, so both words.

 

Q: Can an army commander facing combat, and not knowing whether the army will be destroyed, issue both a recruit order and a hire army order (two skill orders)?
 
A: Sorry, no: you have to choose which you want. If you give a character two skill orders of the same type (e.g. two command skill orders), our game engine will randomly determine which is attempted, with the other automatically failing.
 
In your example, the best bet might be to have two commanders in the army, with the army commander doing a hire army order, and the commander with the army doing a recruit order. If the army survives, the recruit order will succeed and the hire order will fail. If the army is destroyed, then the recruit order will fail, and the hire army will succeed.

 

Q: Can the 780 Transfer Command order be done out at sea?

A: No.

 

I have a question about transferring ownership of a pop center (949). Will it work if the nations have Neutral relations with each other? The rulebook says ‘not an enemy’.

Yes. Neither can be an enemy of the other, so Neutral or better relations is required on both sides.

 

Can an army with a dragon be overrun on the 5 to 1 rules?

Yes. The dragon does not add ‘mass’ to the army.

 

If I send a scout into a hex with an enemy pop center and do a 910 order, will a harbor or port (if present) appear on the mini-map generated by the order?  Or would I need to do a 920 order to see if a harbor/port is or is not there?

If the 910 order is successful, you should get a full map with the harbours/ports showing.

 

Which versions of ME allow order 412 (research artifact) for up to 6 artifacts?

All of them.

 

Do spell orders 418 and 428 also have this option?

No, just 412.

 

In Gunboat games, are offensive actions against allies permited if the nation is dead? For example, influencing away a pop centre?

Yes.

 

If a navy commander, in a port of their own nation, transfers command of their navy to a character who not currently a commander of an army or navy, do the boats automatically anchor?

No.

 

If a subcommander in a navy does a Make Transport Ship order, are the ships automatically part of the navy, so the commander does not need to PckShp?

The ships are automatically asigned to the navy.

 

Is it possible to have two characters issue 185 against a neutral nation, and go from neutral to hatred (if both successful)  on same turn?

It doesn’t appear to be precluded, so we suspect you can do it.

 

I have an army with NO food. If I issue an 850 or 860 order with a H movement, does the H cost 1 or two movement points?

A Home movement always costs 1 movement point.

 

Can a character respond (285) to another character’s investigate encounter (290)?

Yes. Any character can respond to any other character’s discovery of an encounter, as long as they are not an army/navy commander or with an army/navy. A character can also attempt to respond to encounters discovered in earlier turns, though the encounter might not still exist.

If multiple characters respond (285), a randomly chosen character gets the result. Only one character can get a result a turn.

The exceptions to this are riddles and the Amon Hen/Lhaw encounters:

With riddles, multiple characters can get an ‘incorrect’ result, until one character answers correctly. (If two or more characters answer correctly, a randomly chosen character gets the reward.)

With the Amon Hen/Lhaw encounters, multiple characters can get a result.

 

Gandalf has two movement artefacts (Staff of Gandalf – Path Mastery, and Robes of Aman – Grey – Teleport). The problem is that the 805 order in JOverseer only allows for the entry of the artefact number. There is no way to enter the spell or movement hex, etc. So how do I use a movement artefact?

Your first order should be use artefact, 805. Then your second order is the actual movement order using the spell. For example, 825 – 314 – 1234, where 1234 is the hex you want to move to.

 

Why was my character was unable to join a navy at 0513?

0513 is a sea hex. Characters need to join the navy (870 Join Army/Navy) when it is on a land hex.

 

What factors effect encounters? Specifically, does nationality have an effect?

Many factors come into play with encounters – allegiance, skills, artifacts, luck and even nationality. Some nations have advantages (and disadvantages!) with certain encounters and some don’t. There are no “sure” encounters, but the chances of success can be improved or hindered by such factors.

 

A friend had an encounter in a cave that killed the character. When he was sent another character, he couldn’t find the cave (at least he wasn’t told he found it). Am I correct that once you find encounters, you don’t necessarily “rediscover” them and should use command 285?

Correct. Once an encounter has been investigated, then the character may simply “react” if the hex is re-entered. This assumes that the encounter is still there – someone else may have ‘reacted’ and resolved it. It also assumes that the encounter doesn’t move (some encounters are at fixed locations; others move about – either every turn or they may stay put for a few turns before moving on.

 

Your description of companies mentions mages throwing a spell together. How would a company of emissaries or agents work if they were trying to combine sabotage or influence at a pop centre? Likewise, four mages throwing a spell at a dragon – do they throw one spell with a high chance of success, or four spells? (Specifically, do they have one large/improved chance to succeed, or do they make separate attempts ?)

Not every encounter/activity will allow multiple characters from a company to co-ordinate. The agent activity you mentioned would NOT allow four agents to work together towards the same mission – they act independently. However, because you have four together, it DOES improve your chances/results. The primary purposes of companies are to facilitate characters moving together (you only have to give one movement order to accomplish the movement. They can then co-ordinate their actions – i.e. four emissaries can all issue 520 or 525 orders – four mages could all cast spell 502 on the same target.) In the case of encounters, any one of the characters involved in the encounter can be selected to ‘react’. This allows the player to select the one he can afford to lose, or the one best suited to deal with the encounter.

 

Can I research an artifact for someone to find out what it does – or do they have to do it for themselves to take advantage of any ‘special’ powers? If I know what an artifact does in one game, is it necessary to research the same artifact in a different game that I may play, or can I just give the appropriate order to take advantage of its powers.(e.g. researching a lost lists spell?) Can I attempt to use an artifact’s powers if I think that I know its powers, or must I research them first?

If you suspect an artifact possesses certain powers, you can still try to take advantage of the ability and see what happens. Did not Bilbo put on the One Ring and turn invisible, even though he had no idea what it would do?? Knowledge of the special powers of any artifact is sufficient to utilise the bonus/ability provided. The database keeps no record of who or how the information was learned. Some of the special powers could even be inferred from ICE/Tolkien references!! You could research artifacts for him. You do not know that artifacts will be the same from game to game, but your could try….

 

I found an artifact that gives access to the lost teleport list. Yet there is also a movement order (805) for artifacts. Can I use this artifact to teleport, or must I research it? Or are there different ‘movement’ artifacts – some that give you the ability to research and some that allow you to ‘move’?

An artifact that allows access to movement lists IS different from a ”movement’ artifact. If you have (or research) an movement artifact that allows access to lost liss allows the bearer to research those spells while s/he bears the artifact. Nothing more, nothing less.

 

Under the area listing artifacts on the turn-results sheets, it lists known powers. Yet, for some of these I’ve learned about additional powers by casting the research spell. How come this is listed under known powers, when the fact is known?

Space considerations become a factor when so much (or too much!) information is presented to the players.

 

What happens when someone leaves the game? Os there any difference as to what happens when someone is forced out militarily, goes bankrupt, or just voluntarily drops out (asked because on nation’s cities were ‘dissolving’ whilst another nation’s didn’t seem to be affected).

The rules under ME-PBM do not detail what happens when a nation goes under. The fate of the characters, regardless of the reason, is the same.

 

I had a strange thing happen to me. I tried to locate an artifact (via the locate true spell 428). I know the spell worked, because my casting rank increased – but I didn’t learn anything – what’s up?

It is possible that the artifacts held by NPC’s (like Gandalf) and even the NPC’s themselves may be more difficult to locate than the normal characters controlled by the player nations. This may even be true of the one ring.

 

Does the bonus of a mage artifact apply only to the mage rank, or also to the casting rank?

It applies to both.

 

Correct me if I am wrong. When I am threatening a city with an ally helping me, I must have the required minimum of troops by myself (e.g. 1000 to threaten a town). But when trying to capture/destroy, our troop levels combine.

You are correct.

 

Can an artifact that you start the game with have unknown powers?

Yes. Research them and find out. I know of at least one person who has found some.

 

Do siege machines count in victory point totals?

Only those items listed in the rules are considered for VP calculations. Thus war machines, fortifications, warships and transports are not of VP significance.

 

Players have discovered that you can rebuild destroyed pop centres with the same name; they have also discovered that at least some characters who die can be replaced with characters by the same name. What rules apply here? How does this affect personal victory conditions?

Pop centres can be re-built with the same or a different name. If the site (hex) is someone’s victory condition, then the same is changed in the listing on the result sheet – the hex would remain the same but the name of the pop centre would be changed to reflect its new name. Since characters created after game start are not in any victory cond’s then they can be renamed the same name if the character is killed. This is not the case with NPC’s or original characters. Those names are always reserved. Retired, or characters retired because their nation is inactive would count as ‘killed’ for VC purposes – re–read the section in the rules. Any artifacts possessed by such characters would be ‘hidden’ in Middle-earth and could be found during the course of play.

 

People seem to be running into a lot of dragons. How come there are so many dragons, and how can they be avoided? Every dragon encounter seems to end with a dead character, one hp left or the character fled; are there ‘good’ encounters possible with dragons?

A Dragons were a bit more prevalent in ME in the mid-Third Age. Their haunts are ‘known’ and can be avoided… Dragons are NPCs and as such little is said about what they can do and what their aims are. There can be very GOOD results (especially with certain nations and certain artifacts) and very BAD results. Each dragon is different – what works for ne will not necessarily work for another.

 

Suppose I have a multi-class character who is fighting a challenge, and his mage rank is already at 100 w/o artifacts, but he has another skill less than 100. Will he gain 1-15 in that statistic instead?

Winning a personal challenge can award from 1-15 points to the ‘prime’ skill area. If this ‘prime’ skill area reaches 100, then additional challenges will provide no bonuses.

 

Can NPC’s be recruited via order 505?

NPCs cannot be “recruited” by using the normal 505 order. However, many will “join” your side (for a while) as a result of some encounters.

 

Do NPCs share the limit of 100 skill points in an area w/o artifacts?

Most NPCs represent supernatural creatures and/or near deities (maiar). As such many are NOT bound by the 100 limit imposed on all human/elf/dwarf etc., characters.

 

Certain artifacts give “open sea” movement. Is that an example of a movement artifact that requires me to use 805, and if so, must I “use” it every turn I wish to receive its benefits?

Yes. With artifacts bestowing benefits or powers, the artifact must be “in use” before the benefit or power is gained.

 

If a character is “retired”, can he then be recruited by someone else, or is he/she considered dead?

Once a character is retired, he is considered to be no longer actively working within the nation in which he had been dwelling and cannot be recruited by anyone else.

 

If I fight a challenge and win do I automatically gain the dead character’s artifacts?

Characters who win a personal challenge don’t automatically get the artifacts from a deceased one. They get them if the character is a lone character and not with an army.

 

When a character’s ranks are something like 20 (45),-0-40-40, and has his highest rank raised, does the artifact make his command the highest rank? Likewise, if he was something like 0-0-40-40, which rank could be raised? (Is it random, or does the fact that Mage rank counts more for challenge rank have any affect?)

The only action where the “highest” rank is affected is personal challenge. For the personal challenge, he highest rank is considered to be the highest net rank as computed on pg.56 in the rules. In cases of ties, the highest net rank encountered first is used. (left to right of your turn sheet).

 

How come my stupid people tell me the dragon’s name, but not the important fact that s/he is a dragon? Can dragons use artifacts?

Many genres suggest that dragons are beings of great magic and lore. Although ME is vague on such issues, ICE suggests that dragons can cast spells can assume other forms if they so desire. This is why it can be somewhat of a surprise to find out that a spotted character turns out to be a dragon. However, although NPC may possess artifacts, some quite powerful, you would not expect them to wield them in the same manner as would normal beings. Besides, a dragon needs a little help when trying to kill someone… (Keith – I think this is a “no, dragons can’t use artifacts”. At the very least it means “not normally”).

 

Would cbt artifacts and their bonuses affect the results of a challenge? Is an assassination an agent -v- agent role?

Assassinations are NOT resolved like challenges. The factors and issues are different. The factors involved (as per the rules) are the agent and stealth rank of the assassin and the highest skill rank of the target, the skill ranks of the guards and the relations between the nations. The challenge ranks play no part. The agent rank of the target is only involved if the target is an agent! Stealth plays a part also.

 

I have two characters with four artifacts each. I want them to each give four artifacts to the other. Is this a problem?

A player has no way of knowing which order will occur first. The order is random within each order number (except “BIDS”). Thus, you can try both and if luck is with you then they will go through. If not, then the next turn, you can complete the transfer.

 

My nation can create 40pt. Commanders. Does this mean that every character gets 10pts of commander skill, or does this mean that a 30pt commander becomes 40pts?

The bonus ability only applies for use with the 728 order and only gains maximum benefit if the creating commander is rank 40+. Otherwise, the characters will be limited by the normal rules.

 

The rulebook states “artifacts must be used by issuing the appropriate order, in the turn…” – But order #205 indicated a combat artifact remains in use until something happens to change the situation. Which is the case?

An artifact will remain ‘in use’ once it has become ‘in use’. If a character obtains an artifact, and does not currently have one ‘in use’, then one (the most powerful) will be selected and used. If a character obtains a new artifact, and one is currently ‘in use’, then no change will occur. If the new artifact, or any other is desired to be the one ‘in use’, then #205 must be given. If a character loses an artifact, but another is still in their possession, then one (again the most powerful) will be selected.

 

How does the “Combat Bonus” for artifacts and spells affect Personal Combat? Naval Combat?

The “Combat Bonus” value is translated into values for:

Personal Combat = value/50 (i.e. a 500 bonus becomes 10)
Naval Combat = value/100 (i.e. a 1000 bonus becomes 10)

The “Combat bonus” for spells do not affect Personal Combat.

 

At what tax rate does the loyalty rank become affected, either adversely or to our benefit?

The exact range of values is NOT revealed. However, at certain tax rates the loyalty rank is assured of going down or up by a fixed amount. However, the intermediate tax rates can result in either a slight decrease, or a slight increase, or no change at all in the loyalty rate.

 

My nation spends more money than it makes in income. How can I fix it? Is this fair?

Third Age, circa 1650 is a period of recovery and bold plans. This means that some nations have been suffering and are trying to return to a position of power. Others have grand plans to acquire new holdings and strength. In either case, this expansion takes wealth. Thus, it will be up to the nation’s leaders to continue these grand schemes/recovery or curtail their nation’s growth. Many nations face this dilemma. Suggestions for methods of increasing wealth can be found on page 21-22 of the Rulebook.

 

My nation has a special ability that allows me to create new (Commanders, Agents, Emissaries, or Mages) at a rank of up to 40. What order can I use to gain this advantage?

The only way to take advantage of this ability is to use the “Name New Character As (Commander, Agent, Emissary, or Mage)” order (#728, 731, 743, or 737) and with a (Commander, Agent, Emissary, Mage) that already has a rank of 40+. The “Name New Character” order (#725) can not be issued to take advantage of this ability.

 

My nation has a special ability that allows me to create new (Commanders, Agents, Emissaries, or Mages) at a rank of up to 40, but all my (Commanders, Agents, Emissaries, or Mages) have a skill rank of 10. What can I do to still gain this advantage? Is this a problem?

At this time in the Third Age, many nations are suffering, or just recovering from the Great Plague. This means that many former heroes have perished. Therefore, although your nation may have the historical ability to create such skilled characters, you will have to train your current characters to a skill rank of 40+ to gain use of this advantage. Many nations may find themselves in this situation.

 

My nation has no (Commanders, Agents, Emissaries, or Mages). How can I create any?

The “Name New Character: order (#725) can be issued by any character at the capital with Command skill (they need not have the same skills as the character being created) and can be used to create a character with any skill type (or combination thereof). Of course, the cost for this order is twice as much as the other “Name New Character As” orders.

 

Does it make any difference in what sequence I list my character orders on the turnsheet?

Yes and no. All character orders, regardless of the sequence they are listed on your turnsheet, are randomly shuffled and sequenced by order number for purposes of order execution (Bid orders are then sequenced by the amount of the bid as well).

However, the sequence that character orders are listed on the turnsheet can make a difference. If you instruct your character to perform two skill order (which is not permitted!) in the same turn, the second character order listed will be considered the ‘duplicate’ and thus ignored. This is because, in most cases, players list their most important character orders first, regardless of the actual sequence in which they will be executed.

 

I am confused about the turn sequence. Can you move a character and then have him perform an action? Or vice versa?

All orders are executed in the sequence determined by the order number. Thus, you could have a Commander train his army (#435), and then move (#850). But, you could not have an Agent move (#810) and then influence (#525) – the #525 goes before the #810. The character could move and then on the next turn issue the order to attempt to influence.

 

If a navy is at a harbor/port, and the harbor/port is removed/destroyed, what happens to the navy?

The navy is not directly affected by the lost harbor/port. The navy can remain in the hex as long as it wishes. It can even, if the terrain is ‘shore’, anchor ships and go ashore. However, if the navy moves away from the hex, and the terrain is not ‘shore’, then the navy can not return to the hex. Only an army would be able to enter the hex until the harbor is restored.

 

When can a navy give army orders?

A navy can issue ‘army’ orders as long as the navy could anchor its ships and go ashore. The navy does not do so, but it must be able to do so to be able to issue the ‘army’ orders. In this way, a navy that is ‘offshore’ of a land hex (not in ‘coastal waters’ or ‘open seas’) could put troops on maneuvers or recon the area. Normally, only in cases of actual combat (#230-#260) or movement (#850-#860) will the ships actually become anchored as a result of another order.

 

Is the ‘force’ needed to threaten a population center based upon numbers of troops or strength points?

The ‘force’ is based upon the quantity of troops, not the type or quality.

 

Can a Mage use any two Mage skill orders, or is it just spells that can be used twice per turn?

A Mage can not normally use two Mage skill orders, except for casting two spells (using different orders) and that can be dangerous!! However, a Mage can ‘Prentice Magery’ and ‘Cast’ a spell in the same turn.

 

Can a new character do actions on the turn s/he is created?

No, the only order that is likely to allow a character to be involved in an action on the turn s/he is created is #780. Since no space is provided yet on the turnsheet for the new character, no orders can be given nor will be accepted.

 

What is the difference between a ‘Transfer Troops’ involving all your troops and “Transfer Command”?

The difference is that the ‘Transfer Command’ will automatically transfer all baggage and ships. The ‘Transfer Troops’ ONLY transfers the troops indicated. Furthermore, the “Transfer Command” also allows for the former Commander to join the new army without additional orders. The “Transfer Command” should also be used when you are trying to combine two armies into one.

 

Why do some of my population centers appear on my turn map but not others? Is this a problem?

The turn map represents the general reports and feedback that your nation receives from its indigenous populace in its historical realm/region. These reports are NOT generated by any single character. This is why the turn map is fixed the entire game, even if you move your capital or base of operations. However, there are several orders (#905, #925, #940(w/#415)) that can provide as many 7- hex reports as you can handle. These orders generate text reports and a smaller version of the turn map. This ‘blind-spot’ problem is shared, to a greater or lesser degree, by many nations and is part of the difficulties faced when your nation expands beyond its borders or when your nation is scattered about – more orders must be expended in order to keep close tabs on your realm. Fortunately, these distant population centers will report when they have been attacked or invaded or attacked or taken away…..

 

Can armies of different nations combine to attack?

Yes, but the armies are NOT joined. They simply can meet at the same place and attack on the same turn.

 

I am supposed to kill a certain character – How can I find out who and where they are?

There are several ways to locate both characters and artifacts. There are several Lore spells that can reveal the characters (#420, #430) and locate information about the artifacts (#412, #418, #428). Actually catching up with the target character, or obtaining the specific artifact can be a bit more of a challenge… Also, much of the supplemental reading contains details about characters, population centers, nations, artifacts, NPC’s, and other special activities that can be encountered in ME-PBM.

 

Will the ‘Reveal Production’ spell provide the production capacities of production centers you already own, within the radius of the spell?

Yes, the hexes are chosen at random within the radius and care not if there is a population center there already.

 

If some of your own characters are on one of your own population centers, will they encounter any foreign character that enters that hex, even if the natural ‘sighting’ capabilities of the population center don’t spot the foreign character?

Characters will not ‘encounter’ other player characters unless ordered to do so (scouting, challenges, double agents, etc….). Being aware of their presence does not allow you (or them) to initiate some interaction. Characters can ‘encounter’ non-player characters (NPC’s) in a hex without getting any report of their presence. Furthermore, characters can choose to interact with NPC’s in a hex, even if no ‘encounter’ is indicated, if there is some report of their presence.

 

When attempting to threaten a population center, do war machines help out other than counting as 25 troops?

No, they count as just ‘more troops’ to help the threaten.

 

Does army morale go up when an army commander increases in rank?

No, not as a result of the commander’s rank increase. Morale is normally increased only as indicated in the rules.

 

When attacking an enemy army (not the population center at one of their fortified population centers), will they receive a constitution bonus from their fortification? Does the attacking army have to overcome the fortification?

The answer to the first question is ‘Yes’. The answer to the second question is ‘No’ – because the enemy army would be gaining a defensive bonus because of certain available defenses associated with the fortifications – not the actual fortifications themselves.

 

When defending against an enemy attacking army that is at their own population center (i.e. when you are planning to siege their population center and they attack you), does the attacking enemy receive the constitution bonus from their own fortifications?

Yes, if combat occurs in a hex with fortifications which are owned by one of the involved armies, then they will receive the bonus because they are still using the available defenses associated with the fortifications, even though they might also be attacking.

 

Is there a way to capture/destroy a fortified population center without war machines (and without sieging, threatening, using emissary orders, etc…)?

Yes, you can capture/destroy a population center using an army without war machines. The war machines are a BIG help, but not absolutely necessary.

 

Can evasive movement prevent non-friendly/tolerant armies/navies from having to stop when running across each other’s paths?

Yes, besides sneaking up on population centers, this is the primary purpose for moving evasively.

 

Does the casting proficiency for spells already learned increase when a mage’s skill rank increases?

No, once a spell is learned, the only way to improve the casting rank, besides acquiring certain artifacts, is to ‘cast’ the spell. However, the mage rank is one of the factors for determining the original spell casting proficiency.

 

When an agent attempts to assassinate a character, what skill ranks of the target character matter, or matter most?

The highest one of the four skill ranks.

 

Can an army, or specific troops, be put on maneuvers more than once in a turn (by different commanders)?

Yes, and by reviewing the discussion in the rulebook about characters with an army you can determine how this can be done.

 

Do ships, war machines, or fortifications matter at all in calculation of victory points?

No, they are of tactical and/or strategic importance only. Other than the section in the rulebook, the actual method and details of tallying victory points is information withheld from the players.

 

Can a navy move directly from 2927 to 2926?

No, nor can one move from 2236 to 2235 nor from 1118 to 1218 nor from 1119 to 1219.

 

Does the ‘Reveal Production’ spell reveal the five hexes with the greatest amount of that resource or just any five hexes with that resource?

The hexes are not revealed in any order – simply random.

 

Does the ‘Recon Area’, ‘Scry Area’, and ‘Scout Area’ orders reveal navies in the water hexes around that hex?

The answer to all three is ‘Yes – to some extent’.

 

Can ‘Scry Hex’ and/or ‘Scry Area’ be done in a water hex?

‘No’ to both.

 

How exactly does troop morale work? At one point in the rulebook it says that troops transferred to an army commander take on the morale level equal to the morale rank of the receiving commander’s army? Does this apply to the transfer command order?

Yes, it is only in cases of ‘split army’ (new army morale normally starts at 30) and ‘hire army’ (new army morale normally starts at 10) that this is not the case.

 

If my troops in an army are demoralized so that their morale is less than the command rank of their commander, can I merely transfer them away and then transfer them back on a later turn so that their morale increases to the level of the commander? Can this work in the opposite way also (if the troop morale is initially higher than the commander rank)?

You can ‘merge’ disgruntled troops into ‘energetic’ armies to improve overall morale (and vice versa). However, ‘re-transferring’ them back uses the ‘split army’ order which only results in a morale of 30 (not the army commander’s command rank). Thus, this kind of activity is of minimal advantage and usually simply wastes valuable orders. If the ‘split army’ is not used, then the transferred troops would simply assume the morale of their new army comrades. Note also that the commander rank has nothing to do with any existing army’s morale.

 

If an army commander does die from a challenge, and there is more than one character with command skill in that army, which character will become the new commander?

The one with the highest command skill – ties are broken randomly.

 

Can I order a character with command skill in an army, one who is not the army commander, to attack an enemy army or population center, in anticipation of my army commander’s death due to challenge?

Yes, but the order will be ignored/fail if the commander survives the challenge or if some other character becomes the army commander. In like fashion, if you expect your army to be destroyed, then you could issue ‘move character’ orders to your army commander, in anticipation that he will be only a character by the time the order comes around. If the army isn’t destroyed, then the order would fail.

 

If a hidden population center is revealed by a Mage spell, can the owner of the population center simply re-hide it the next turn again so that I cannot attack it, etc..?

Yes, it COULD be done, but it is not an ability that most nations possess. Even then, the task would not be easy. Therefore, by and large, the answer is ‘No’.

 

Since a navy in a land hex (harbor, shore, port) can anchor ships if it wants to, then it is able to use orders that an army can use. Does this mean that an offshore navy can use the ‘split army’ (navy in this case)? If so, can it choose to transfer a specific amount of ships as well?

In response to the first question – ‘Yes’, it can even do so without anchoring ships, just so long as it is in a hex where it could do so. Regarding the second question – the answer is ‘Yes’, but you would need to use a second order to transfer the ships desired.

 

If there is not enough gold to cover maintenance costs, is the tax rate automatically raised to cover the costs (assuming the needed taxes are under 100%). For example, if my tax rate is 80% and my maintenance costs require the additional revenue generated from a 95% tax rate, am I guaranteed that this tax rate will be successfully achieved without an order, or is it possible that my tax rate will not be successfully raised?

The answer is ‘Yes’, the tax rate will automatically be increased to whatever tax rate is required to cover maintenance costs. This is different from the ‘change tax rate’ order which can fail or only partially succeed. Furthermore, the loyalty at all population centers will be affected by the increase in the tax rate. However, the amount of impact on the loyalty will be greater if the tax rate is increased automatically rather than voluntarily.

 

Under the ‘steal gold’ order, it says that success will gain the character gold based on the net revenues (assuming 100% tax rate) and any gold production the population center generated that turn. However, on page 27, it says that capitals are more vulnerable to gold stealing because they house [most of] the gold reserves. How is this true if the amount stolen is based only on the revenue and gold production of the population center?

The capital is the only place where all of your reserve is potentially vulnerable. It is not easy, but a very good agent could exceed the normal gold limits, and a great agent could even clean your reserves out – but only at the capital. Of course, it is easy to guard your capital – whereas it is harder to guard all your population centers.

 

Can an agent steal gold from a population center if the nation has no reserves at the time?

No, considering that if there are no reserves, then what is left to steal? However, the skill rank would still improve.

 

Can a nation go bankrupt at any time during a turn other than when maintenance cost must be paid?

No, only maintenance costs must be paid. Thus, other expenses will simply fail to be paid and orders may thus fail as well.

 

What is the benefit of sieging a population center?

The benefit of a siege is that it reduces the food stores at the population center and doesn’t allow transfer orders, or market buy/sell orders, affecting the population center to take place. Once the food stores are gone, there is a continuing reduction in population center loyalty. Furthermore, there is a chance that if the sieging army has war machines, then the fortifications may be reduced each turn the population center is sieged. Revenue is also not received from any population center under siege (Note – revenue will still accumulate in the capital even though it is under siege – maintenance costs, orders, expenses, etc will be paid, but no transfers or market buy/sells will work there either). The net benefit of the siege is frequently that the population center will be more vulnerable to other forms of capture (threaten, emissary influence, army attack) but without the risk of troop and/or population center level losses. Of course, sieging takes time and the troops must still be fed and maintained . . .

 

When my capital falls, am I out of the game? If not, what happens?

Definitely probably not! When the capital is lost, and if there is another population center (major town or city) that can become the capital before turn end (else your nation is no longer active), then your nation is still active and can strike back. However, the loss of the capital can have a negative impact on your nation’s population center loyalty. Any loss of a population center tends to affect the loyalty at the nation’s other population centers. The greater the level of the lost population center, the greater the risk and amount of lost loyalty. Having population centers destroyed (rather than simply captured) also increases the risk and amount of lost loyalty. And losing the capital is generally the worst of all. Therefore, although it is not the end of the game to lose your capital, you must tread carefully and work hard to stay alive and get revenge.

 

What good is the ‘stand and defend’ order if it does not allow you to prevent an army from entering your hex?

The ‘Stand and Defend’ order is NOT intended to prevent an army from entering a hex. If it could do this, then you could prevent an army from entering the hex they need to enter in order to attack you. However desirable, it makes NO sense to have the order work in that fashion. The ‘Stand and Defend’ order IS intended to prevent an army from LEAVING a hex in the direction of a hex you wish to defend. Normally, a large enough army could do this by simply occupying the hex. Movement of non-friendly/tolerant armies would thus be stopped. However, on the next turn, the non-friendly/tolerant army could then simply continue its movement and the defending army would have no means to prevent this movement except by attacking. If this option is not desired, then the ‘Stand and Defend’ order will prevent the undesirable movement. In this way, an army can guard a mountain pass, or one side of a bridge, by occupying the hex in front of the hex to be protected and defending the proper directions.